The Center for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation has announced its selection of 32 Pioneer Accountable Care Organizations.  These organizations from 18 states will begin re-organizing health care for about 860,000 Medicare beneficiaries in their local communities on January 1, 2012.  Together, these organizations are expected to generate $1.1 billion in savings over the next five years.

Link to Original Source

Link to Original Source

The 32 ACOs are:

  1. Allina Hospitals & Clinics, Minnesota and western Wisconsin
  2. Atrius Health, eastern and central Massachusetts
  3. Banner Health Network, Phoenix, Arizona
  4. Bellin-Thedacare Healthcare Partners, northeast Wisconsin
  5. Beth Israel Deaconess Physician Organization, eastern Massachusetts
  6. Bronx Accountable Healthcare Network (BAHN), New York City and lower Westchester County
  7. Brown & Toland Physicians, San Francisco, California
  8. Dartmouth-Hitchcock ACO, New Hampshire and eastern Vermont
  9. Eastern Maine Healthcare System, central, eastern and northern Maine
  10. Fairview Health Systems, Minneapolis, Minnesota
  11. Franciscan Alliance, Indianapolis and central Indiana
  12. Genesys PHO, southeastern Michigan
  13. Healthcare Partners Medical Group, Los Angeles and Orange Counties, California
  14. Healthcare Partners of Nevada, Clark and Nye Counties, Nevada
  15. Heritage California ACO, southern, central and coastal California
  16. JSA Medical Group, a division of HealthCare Partners, Orlando and Tampa Bay, Florida
  17. Michigan Pioneer ACO, southeastern Michigan
  18. Monarch Healthcare, Orange County, California
  19. Auburn Cambridge Independent Practice Association (MACIPA), eastern Massachusetts
  20. North Texas ACO, Tarrant, Johnson, and Parker Counties, Texas
  21. OSF Healthcare System, central Illinois
  22. Park Nicollet Health Services, Minneapolis, Minnesota
  23. Partners Healthcare, eastern Massachusetts
  24. Physician Health Partners, Denver, Colorado
  25. Presbyterian Healthcare Services-Central New Mexico Pioneer Accountable Care Organization, central New Mexico
  26. Primecare Medical Network, San Bernardino and Riverside Counties, California
  27. Renaissance Medical Management Company, southeastern Pennsylvannia
  28. Seton Health Alliance, central Texas
  29. Sharp Healthcare System, San Diego County, California
  30. Steward Health Care System, eastern Massachusetts
  31. TriHealth, Inc., northwest central Iowa
  32. University of Michigan, southeastern Michigan

Interestingly, there will multiple Pioneer ACOs operating in some geographic areas (eastern Massachusetts; Minneapolis, Minnesota; southeastern Michigan; Orange County, California).  The 32 Pioneer ACOs were selected from 80 applicants.

Link to Orignal Source

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s