The Advisory Board Company has prepared this useful map showing where each state currently stands on implementing the expansion of the Medicaid program to individuals below 133% of the Federal Poverty Level as part of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA), to be implemented in January 2014.

This section of the ACA was upheld by the U.S. Supreme Court last month, as long as the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) does not withdraw federal funding for existing Medicaid programs from states that decline to implement the expansion.  The expansion is fully funded by the CMS for participating states from 2014 through 2016 (100% Federal Medical Assistance Percentage, or FMAP), with a gradual share of state funding required, to a maximum of 10% state funding beginning in 2020.

According to the Advisory Board Company, governors from five states – Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Florida, and South Carolina – have made public statements since the June 28 U.S. Supreme Court decision that their states would decline to implement the Medicaid expansion.  In states that decline to implement the Medicaid expansion, low-income individuals who would otherwise be eligible for the expanded Medicaid program would presumably still be eligible to participate in that state’s (or federal) health insurance exchange (subsidized at up to 400% the Federal Poverty Level).

Link to Original Source

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s