The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services has published this proposed rule with Stage 3 requirements for Medicare and Medicaid incentive payments for the meaningful use of electronic health records under the 2009 Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act.  The Stage 3 requirements continue to advance principles of documenting more comprehensive clinical and demographic data as structured (and exchangeable) electronic data, using electronic clinical decision making support, health information exchange, and sharing electronic health information with patients to increase patient engagement.  The earliest that hospitals and eligible providers would have to meet these Stage 3 requirements would be 2017.  Comments are due by May 29, 2015.

Link to Original Source

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s