The Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation has announced Round Two awards for the State Innovation Model, authorized by section 3201 of the Affordable Care Act, with 4-year implementation (test) awards to 11 states: Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Idaho, Iowa, Michigan, New York, Rhode Island, Ohio, Tennessee, and Washington.  These grants range from $99.9 million to New York to $20 million to Rhode Island.  Six states – Oregon, Vermont, Massachusetts, Arkansas, Minnesota, and Maine – are continuing their implementation of State Innovation Model Round One awards.  The State Innovation Model supports improved multi-payer payment and health care delivery models that will result in quality improvement at reduced health care costs.

17 other states, the District of Columbia, and the territories of Puerto Rico, American Samoa and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands received one year planning (design) grants.  The 17 states are Arizona, California, Hawaii, Kentucky, Illinois, Maryland, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.  These awards range from $3 million to California and Pennsylvania to $750,000 to American Samoa and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

Both the Round Two implementation and planning grants begin on January 1, 2015.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s