The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has published a proposed rule for Stage 2 requirements for Medicare and Medicaid incentive payments to hospitals and eligible providers for the meaningful use of certified electronic health records under the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act.  CMS “substantially adopted” the recommendations of the Office of National Coordinator for Health Information Technology Policy Committee for Stage 2 requirements.  In Stage 2, eligible providers will be required to meet 17 core objectives and 3 of 5 optional or menu items while hospitals will be required to meet 16 core objectives and 2 of 4 optional or menu items.   However, the Stage 2 requirements will not become effective until 2014.  Comments are due on May 7, 2012.

Link to Original Source

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s