The National Council on Interpreting in Health Care has developed National Standards for Healthcare Interpreting Training Programs.  These national standards are the result of two years of careful research and development, and are based on input from thousands of working interpreters, trainers, and educators.

The standards on Program Content are divided into Knowledge about the Healthcare Interpreting Profession, Language and Communication, Professional Practice, Health System, Culture, and Resources; and Interpreting Skills of Message Conversion, Modes of Interpreting, Interpreting Protocols, Cultural Brokering, Decision-making, and Translation in the Interpreting Context.

Standards on Instructional Methods include Interactive Methods, Guided Practice, Student Learning Needs, and Varied Teaching Methods, which in turn, include Presentation Methods, Skills-Building Exercises, Guided Practice, Critical Thinking Analysis, Structured Feedback, Self-Directed Study, Observation Followed by Discussion, and Practicum.

Programmatic Standards include Operational Policies, Program Design, Entry Requirements/Screening, Instructor Qualifications, and Student Assessment.

Link to Original Source

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s